Peter Habeler

Peter Habeler


World famous mountain climber & Mayrhofen"s Mountain Professor

Under the motto, "Everyone has their own personal Everest", Peter feels that everyone should look for new challenges in the hiking world, according to their own mental and physical state.The essential thing is to conquer your inner demons and find a challenge that is within your reach. It doesn"t matter how high the summit is you"re aiming for, it"s all about creating your own personal Everest. Respect for nature and knowing your own limitations are crucial in this context.


The most beautiful peaks are at home

Peter Habeler has conquered an impressive five eight thousand metre peaks during his mountaineering career. His greatest passion, however, remains with the mountains of Zillertal and he conveys that enthusiasm well to guests of his Alpine and Ski School.

 

Many people go to great lengths to achieve their climbing dream, buy expensive equipment and make endlessly long journeys. It is so much easier for Peter Habeler. He is a passionate walker. "Walking", says the famous mountain climber, "is the measure of all things for me. It"s medative.“

 

Together with Reinhold Messner in 1974, he climbed the North Face of the Eiger in record time. The undisputed high point of his career was in 1978 when he made the very first Mount Everest ascent without oxygen supplies, accompanied again by Messner. Further legendary summits such as the Nanga Parbat and a total of five eight thousand metre peaks followed.  


Close ties to home

Classic mountain climbing in the local mountains such as Große Möseler, Große Löffler and the Olperer are still unforgettable experiences for him today. He also loves simpler tours, which allow guests to experience all the charm of his native mountains.

 

The Zillertaler High Trail from the Berlin Hut to the Geraer Hut is one of the most beautiful crossings of the Eastern Alps for him. Walking through the magnificent high alpine landscapes of the Main Alpine Ridge and meeting marmots and ibex goats on the way can also be an impressive high point of an alpine tour. Not forgetting of course, the welcoming mountain huts you will find on your way.

 

Peter Habler 2
© Mayhofen  

Tips from a pro

 

  • For ambitious climbers Peter Habeler recommends the 3,087 metre high Zsigmondyspitze, which can be reached from the Berliner Hut on the south west side. Its" distinctive profile is reminiscent of the famous Matterhorn.
  •  A real insider tip is the 3,418 metre high Turnerkamp, which is seldom climbed and has sections in levels 3 and 4 of climbing difficulty. Your efforts will be rewarded with fantastic views from the top.

loading

Your request is beeing processed.

Please wait a moment.

Watch list

Shopping Cart

Peter Habeler

Peter Habeler


weltberühmter Alpinist & Mayrhofens Bergprofessor

Unter dem Motto „jeder hat seinen Everest“ meint Peter, dass jeder nach seinem mentalen und physischen Zustand sich Herausforderungen in punkto Wandern suchen soll. Das Wesentliche ist, seinen inneren Schweinehund bezwingen und sich einer Herausforderung stellen, der man auch gewachsen ist. Egal wie hoch das Ziel oder der Gipfel ist, den man erklimmen möchte, es kommt nur darauf an, sich seinen eigenen Everest zu schaffen. Der Respekt vor der Natur und seinen eigenen Grenzen ist dabei wesentlich.

 


Die schönsten Gipfel sind zu Hause

Fünf Achttausender hat Peter Habeler bezwungen. Die große Leidenschaft des berühmten Mayrhofners sind aber immer die Zillertaler Gipfel geblieben, deren Faszination er in seiner Berg- und Skischule den Gästen vermittelt.

 

Viele Menschen treiben einen großen Aufwand, um dem Glück näher zu kommen, kaufen teure Ausrüstungen und machen endlos lange Reisen. Peter Habeler hat es da viel einfacher. Er ist ein leidenschaftlicher Geher. „Gehen“, sagt der berühmte Bergsteiger, „ist für mich das Maß aller Dinge. Es ist meditativ.“ 

 

Zusammen mit Reinhold Messner hatte er 1974 die Eiger Nordwand in Rekordzeit durchstiegen. Der unumstrittene Höhepunkt seiner Laufbahn war wohl 1978 die Erstbesteigung des Mount Everest ohne künstlichen Sauerstoff ebenfalls zusammen mit Messner. Weitere legendäre Gipfel wie der Nanga Parbat und insgesamt fünf Achttausender sollten noch folgen.

 


Der Heimat verbunden

Klassische Gipfelbesteigungen wie der Große Möseler, der Große Löffler und der Olperer sind für ihn auch heute noch unvergessliche Erlebnisse. Er liebt auch eher einfache Touren, die den ganzen Reiz seiner Heimatberge erleben lassen.

 

Der Zillertaler Höhenweg von der Berliner Hütte bis zur Geraer Hütte ist für ihn eine der schönsten Durchquerungen in den Ostalpen. Die herrliche hochalpine Landschaft am Alpenhauptkamm erleben, unterwegs Murmeltieren und Gemsen begegnen, auch das können eindrucksvolle Höhepunkte sein. Und nicht zu vergessen: Die gemütlichen Hütten.

 

Peter Habler 2
© Mayhofen  

Tipps vom Profi


  • Für ambitionierte Kletterer empfiehlt Peter Habeler die 3.087 Meter hohe Zsigmondyspitze, die man von der Berliner Hütte an der Südwestseite erreicht. Mit ihrem markanten Profil erinnert sie an das berühmte Matterhorn.
  • Ein echter Geheimtipp ist der 3.418 Meter hohe Turnerkamp, der selten begangen wird und Klettereien im dritten und vierten Grad enthält, die oben mit einer traumhaften Aussicht belohnt werden.
     

loading

Ihre Anfrage wird bearbeitet.

Bitte haben Sie einen Moment Geduld.

Merkliste

Einkaufswagen