Zillertal
© Mayrhofen  

The Zillertal Valley


Introducing this music loving holiday valley

Location:
Located in the province of Tirol, the Zillertal Valley branches away from the Inn Valley about 40 km east of Innsbruck. It is the widest southern tributary valley of the Inn Valley and extends from Strass in Zillertal to Mayrhofen, where it splits again into four tributary valleys; Zillergrund, Zemmgrund, Stillupptal and Tuxertal. The Gerlos Valley branches away from Zillertal in an easterly direction from Zell am Ziller.

 

A few facts

Communities: 25Surface area: 1,098 km²
Inhabitants: 33,424 according to Statistics Austria, Census 2001Length: 32 kilometres from Strass to Mayrhofen
Uphill incline of circa 100 metres from Strass to Mayrhofen

  

Mayrhofen's tributary valleys

  • Tuxertal: 17 kilometres
  • Stillupptal: 8 kilometres
  • Schlegeis: 29 kilometres
  • Zillergrund: 16 kilometres

 

Zell am Ziller's tributary valley
Gerlostal: 17 kilometres
 

Altitude
550 to 3,509 metres above sea level

 

A piece of history: The "Ziller" River
Zillertal takes its' name from the Ziller River, which flows through the Zillertal Valley from south to north, joining the River Inn at the entrance to the valley in the town of Strass. The Ziller was officially recognized as a border river as early as 285 AD. Initially, it marked the border between the Roman provinces of Rhaetia and Noricum and, later, between Bavaria and Tirol

 

Even today it marks the divide between the dioceses of Salzburg and Innsbruck, which is visible to the eye when you know what you are looking for. The church steeples on the left side of the Ziller are predominantly red and those to the right are green. The green colour arises from the use of copper roof cladding which the (richer) diocese of Salzburg was able to use for their churches. The diocese of Brixen, which became the diocese of Innsbruck after the division of north and south Tirol wasn't as affluent as Salzburg and had to clad their church roofs more economically with red tiles.
  

There are four holiday regions in Zillertal

  • Die erste (first) Holiday Region
  • Zillertal Arena
  • Mayrhofen-Hippach Holiday Region
  • Tux & Finkenberg Holiday Region


Further information on this music loving valley and your holiday region can be found on

www.zillertal.at.


loading

Your request is beeing processed.

Please wait a moment.

Watch list

Shopping Cart

Zillertal
© Mayrhofen  

Das Zillertal


Das musikalische Urlaubstal stellt sich vor

Lage
Im Bundesland Tirol gelegen, zweigt das Zillertal etwa 40 km östlich von Innsbruck vom Inntal ab. Es ist das breiteste südliche Seitental des Inntales und reicht von Strass im Zillertal bis Mayrhofen, wo es sich in vier Seitentäler, in den Zillergrund, den Zemmgrund, das Stillupptal und das Tuxertal aufteilt. Das Gerlostal zweigt bei Zell am Ziller Richtung Osten vom Zillertal ab.

 

Ein paar Fakten

Gemeinden: 25Fläche: 1098 km²
Einwohner: 33.424 lt. Statistik Austria, Volkszählung 2001Länge: 32 Kilometer von Strass bis Mayrhofen
Steigung von Strass bis Mayrhofen ca. 100 Meter

  

Seitentäler von Mayrhofen

  • Abzweigung Tuxertal: 17 Kilometer
  • Abzweigung Stillupptal: 8 Kilometer
  • Abzweigung Schlegeis: 29 Kilometer
  • Abzweigung Zillergrund: 16 Kilometer

 

Seitentäler von Zell am Ziller
Abzweigung Gerlostal: 17 Kilometer
 

Seehöhe
550 Meter bis 3.509 Meter

 

Ein Stück Geschichte: Der Fluss "Ziller"
Das Zillertal hat seinen Namen vom Ziller, der Fluss, der das Zillertal von Süden nach Norden durchläuft und bei Strass in den Inn mündet. Bereits seit dem Jahr 285 ist der Ziller ein Grenzfluss. Zuerst markierte er die Grenze zwischen den römischen Provinzen Rätien und Noricum, später zwischen Bayern und Tirol.

 

Noch heute treffen hier die Bistümer von Salzburg und Innsbruck zusammen, was sogar optisch sichtbar ist. Die Kirchtürme auf der linken Zillerseite sind vorwiegend rot, jene rechts grün eingedeckt. Wobei die grüne Farbe durch die Verwendung von Kupfer für die Dächer entsteht, das die (reichere) Diözese Salzburg für ihre Kirchen verwenden konnte, während das Bistum Brixen, aus dem nach der Teilung Tirols in Nordtirol das neue Bistum Innsbruck entstand, sparsamer sein musste und mit Ziegeldächern arbeitete.

 

Im Zillertal befinden sich insgesamt vier Ferienregionen

  • Die erste Ferienregion
  • Zillertal Arena
  • Ferienregion Mayrhofen-Hippach
  • Ferienregion Tux & Finkenberg


Weitere Informationen über das Tal der Musik und Ihre Ferienregionen finden Sie auf

www.zillertal.at.


loading

Ihre Anfrage wird bearbeitet.

Bitte haben Sie einen Moment Geduld.

Merkliste

Einkaufswagen