Hanserhof

The Hanserhof


A rural cultural gem

The old Hanserhof bears witness to the craftsmanship of carpenters in bygone years in Zillertal. Gnarled balconies, rough beams and delicate carvings have withstood centuries of wind and weather in summer and winter..

 

 

It is hard to believe that the old balcony at the Hanserhof is over 500 years old.

During renovation work it was possible to ascertain that the oldest sections date back to the 15th Century! What can we read about times gone by in the deep furrows etched in the timber, what stories could these ancient beams tell us about life back then?

 

Craftsmen of bygone years were incredibly knowledgeable on the uses and processing of wood. It was common knowledge that felling trees according to moon phases influenced the properties of the timber. Timber that was harvested to specific dates was particularly robust or flame retardant.

The architectural development of the Hanserhof can be traced based on the wooden joints. The oldest parts date back to a Gothic construction phase in around 1495, where the corners were double joined. Each subsequent phase of renovation work was carried out much less elaborately. The eastern gable of the farmhouse dating back to late Gothic times is still perfectly preserved.

Roofs were traditionally clad with larch shingles. These were weighted down by cross bars and stones as weather protection - strong gusts of "Föhn" wind that would whip the shingles from the roofs are not uncommon in Brandberg. In recent years, craftsmen have returned to this labour intensive type of roof covering. This reflects a changing culture and deep rooted sense of tradition.
You will have the opportunity to learn more about the culture and people of this village during your stay in Brandberg (Tirol, Austria).

 


loading

Your request is beeing processed.

Please wait a moment.

Watch list

Shopping Cart

Hanserhof

Der Hanserhof


Ein bäuerliches Kulturjuwel

Der alte Hanserhof legt Zeugnis ab für die handwerklichen Leistungen der Zimmermannsleute im Zillertal. Knorrige Balken, derbe Pfosten und zierliche Schnitzereien haben über Jahrhunderte Wind und Wetter im Sommer oder Winter getrotzt.

Den alten Balken des Hanserhofes möchte man das stattliche Alter von über 500 Jahren nicht glauben. 

Im Zuge der Renovierungsarbeiten konnte anhand ganz spezieller Holzuntersuchungsmethoden nachgewiesen werden, dass die ältesten Bauteile aus dem ausgehenden 15. Jahrhundert stammen! Welche Spuren vergangener Zeiten sind in den tiefen Furchen zu lesen, welche Geschichten könnten die alten Balken wohl über das Leben erzählen?

Uraltes Handwerkswissen liegt der Holzverwendung und –verarbeitung zu Grunde. So war allgemein bekannt, dass der Stand des Mondes und der Zeitpunkt der Holzfällung Einfluss auf die Eigenschaften des Holzes haben. An ganz speziellen Stichtagen war das Bauholz besonders widerstandsfähig oder schwer entflammbar.

 

Anhand der Holzverbindungen ist die Bauentwicklung des Hanserhofes zu erforschen. Die ältesten Bauteile stammen aus der gotischen Bauphase um 1495 und sind in den Ecken doppelt überkämmt, jene der späteren Umbauphasen sind deutlich weniger aufwendig verarbeitet. Noch vollkommen erhalten ist der spätgotische Ostgiebel des Bauernhauses.

 

Traditionellerweise werden die Dächer mit Lärchenschindeln gedeckt. Die mit Steinen beschwerten Querstangen dienen dem Windschutz, da starke Föhnböen in Brandberg keine Seltenheit sind und die Schindeln vom Dach fegen würden. In den letzten Jahren wird bei Dachsanierungen wieder auf diese handwerklich aufwendige Art der Dacheindeckung zurückgegriffen. Dies zeugt von einem sich ändernden Kultur - und Traditionsbewusstsein.

Bei Ihrem Urlaub in Brandberg (Tirol, Österreich) können Sie die Kultur und Leute aus dem Ort besser kennen lernen.


loading

Ihre Anfrage wird bearbeitet.

Bitte haben Sie einen Moment Geduld.

Merkliste

Einkaufswagen