Strasser Häusl

Description

In a dreary time "Silent Night, Holy Night" was written

1816 Volcanic eruption in Indonesia (Mount Tambora) - all of Europe suffered from this catastrophe. The "years without summer" followed. The harvest could not be harvested. Terrible war years impoverished the population. Famine was the consequence. It was during this dreary time that "Silent Night, Holy Night" came into being. Josef Mohr first wrote only the poem "Silent Night, Holy Night" in 1816 in Maria Pfarr in Lungau. 1818, on 24.12.- "Silent Night, Holy Night" resounds for the first time in the Oberndorf St. Nikola Church. Its creators are the Oberndorf auxiliary priest Josef Mohr and the Arnsdorf teacher Franz Xaver Gruber.

The spread of "Silent Night" by the Strasser children

The great need drove the Strasser children abroad dressed in traditional costumes. Like their father, they sold bought gloves made of fine leather, linen goods, underwear and oil products from the Zillertal. By singing in the marketplace, they attracted more and more onlookers. Their songs told of their homeland, the high mountains, love and death. Almost always they also yodeled. Jakob Katschthaler (1776 - 1835), school teacher, organist and choir director of Hippach since 1802, was their great teacher. He knew the Strasser very well not only as a school teacher but also as a choir director. They surely learned the majority of the songs from him. It must have happened then that they also heard and learned to love "Silent Night, Holy Night", brought to Fügen in 1819 by the organ builder Karl Mauracher in the Zillertal. Josef Rainer, a brother of the original Rainer and innkeeper in Fügen, is also said to have warmly recommended that they bring this song to Leipzig.

In a dreary time "Silent Night, Holy Night" was written

1816 Volcanic eruption in Indonesia (Mount Tambora) - all of Europe suffered from this catastrophe. The "years without summer" followed. The harvest could not be harvested. Terrible war years impoverished the population. Famine was the consequence. It was during this dreary time that "Silent Night, Holy Night" came into being. Josef Mohr first wrote only the poem "Silent Night, Holy Night" in 1816 in Maria Pfarr in Lungau. 1818, on 24.12.- "Silent Night, Holy Night" resounds for the first time in the Oberndorf St. Nikola Church. Its creators are the Oberndorf auxiliary priest Josef Mohr and the Arnsdorf teacher Franz Xaver Gruber.

The spread of "Silent Night" by the Strasser children

The great need drove the Strasser children abroad dressed in traditional costumes. Like their father, they sold bought gloves made of fine leather, linen goods, underwear and oil products from the Zillertal. By singing in the marketplace, they attracted more and more onlookers. Their songs told of their homeland, the high mountains, love and death. Almost always they also yodeled. Jakob Katschthaler (1776 - 1835), school teacher, organist and choir director of Hippach since 1802, was their great teacher. He knew the Strasser very well not only as a school teacher but also as a choir director. They surely learned the majority of the songs from him. It must have happened then that they also heard and learned to love "Silent Night, Holy Night", brought to Fügen in 1819 by the organ builder Karl Mauracher in the Zillertal. Josef Rainer, a brother of the original Rainer and innkeeper in Fügen, is also said to have warmly recommended that they bring this song to Leipzig.

Hours of Operation

Closed now
13:00 - 17:00
Location

Strasser Häusl

Beschreibung

In einer tristen Zeit entstand “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“

1816 Vulkanausbruch in Indonesien (Mount Tambora) - ganz Europa litt unter dieser Katastrophe. Es folgten die “Jahre ohne Sommer“. Die Ernte konnte nicht eingefahren werden. Schreckliche Kriegsjahre verarmten die Bevölkerung. Eine Hungersnot war die Folge. In dieser tristen Zeit entstand “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“. Josef Mohr schrieb 1816 in Maria Pfarr im Lungau zuerst nur das Gedicht “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“. 1818, am 24.12.– erklingt “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“ in der Oberndorfer St. Nikola-Kirche zum ersten Mal. Seine Schöpfer sind der Oberndorfer Hilfspriester Josef Mohr und der Arnsdorfer Lehrer Franz Xaver Gruber.

Die Verbreitung von “Stille Nacht“ durch die Strasser-Kinder

Die große Not trieb die Strasser-Kinder in Tracht gekleidet ins Ausland. Sie verkauften, so wie ihr Vater, zugekaufte Handschuhe aus feinem Leder, Leinenware, Unterwäsche und Ölprodukte aus dem Zillertal. Durch ihr Singen am Marktplatz zogen sie immer mehr Schaulustige an. Ihre Lieder erzählten von ihrer Heimat, den hohen Bergen, der Liebe und dem Tod. Fast immer wurde auch gejodelt. Jakob Katschthaler (1776 – 1835), seit 1802 Schullehrer, Organist und Chorleiter von Hippach, war ihr großer Lehrmeister. Er kannte die Strasser nicht nur als Schullehrer, sondern auch als Chorleiter sehr gut. Den Großteil der Lieder haben sie sicher von ihm gelernt. Da dürfte es passiert sein, dass sie auch “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“, vom Orgelbauer Karl Mauracher 1819 ins Zillertal nach Fügen gebracht, gehört und lieben gelernt haben. Auch Josef Rainer, ein Bruder der Ur-Rainer und Wirt in Fügen, soll ihnen wärmstens empfohlen haben, dieses Lied nach Leipzig zu bringen.

In einer tristen Zeit entstand “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“

1816 Vulkanausbruch in Indonesien (Mount Tambora) - ganz Europa litt unter dieser Katastrophe. Es folgten die “Jahre ohne Sommer“. Die Ernte konnte nicht eingefahren werden. Schreckliche Kriegsjahre verarmten die Bevölkerung. Eine Hungersnot war die Folge. In dieser tristen Zeit entstand “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“. Josef Mohr schrieb 1816 in Maria Pfarr im Lungau zuerst nur das Gedicht “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“. 1818, am 24.12.– erklingt “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“ in der Oberndorfer St. Nikola-Kirche zum ersten Mal. Seine Schöpfer sind der Oberndorfer Hilfspriester Josef Mohr und der Arnsdorfer Lehrer Franz Xaver Gruber.

Die Verbreitung von “Stille Nacht“ durch die Strasser-Kinder

Die große Not trieb die Strasser-Kinder in Tracht gekleidet ins Ausland. Sie verkauften, so wie ihr Vater, zugekaufte Handschuhe aus feinem Leder, Leinenware, Unterwäsche und Ölprodukte aus dem Zillertal. Durch ihr Singen am Marktplatz zogen sie immer mehr Schaulustige an. Ihre Lieder erzählten von ihrer Heimat, den hohen Bergen, der Liebe und dem Tod. Fast immer wurde auch gejodelt. Jakob Katschthaler (1776 – 1835), seit 1802 Schullehrer, Organist und Chorleiter von Hippach, war ihr großer Lehrmeister. Er kannte die Strasser nicht nur als Schullehrer, sondern auch als Chorleiter sehr gut. Den Großteil der Lieder haben sie sicher von ihm gelernt. Da dürfte es passiert sein, dass sie auch “Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht“, vom Orgelbauer Karl Mauracher 1819 ins Zillertal nach Fügen gebracht, gehört und lieben gelernt haben. Auch Josef Rainer, ein Bruder der Ur-Rainer und Wirt in Fügen, soll ihnen wärmstens empfohlen haben, dieses Lied nach Leipzig zu bringen.

Öffnungszeiten

Jetzt geschlossen
13:00 - 17:00
Standort