View of the Zillertal Valley in summer

The Zillertal Valley

Introducing this music loving holiday valley

Located in the Province of Tirol, the Zillertal Valley branches away from the Inn Valley about 40 km east of Innsbruck. It is the widest southern tributary valley of the Inn Valley and extends over a length of 32 kilometres from Strass in Zillertal to Mayrhofen , where it splits again into four tributary valleys, Zillergrund, Zemmgrund, Stillupptal and Tuxertal. The Gerlos Valley branches away from Zillertal in an easterly direction from Zell am Ziller. Surrounded by numerous three-thousanders and the wonderful mountains of the Tuxer Voralpen, the Tux main range and the Zillertal Alps, Zillertal offers unique views. The highest mountain is the Hochfeiler with an altitude of 3,509 metres. Zillertal consists of 25 villages with a total of approximately 33,500 inhabitants and covers an area of 1098 sqm. It takes its name from the river that runs through Zillertal from south to north and empties into the River Inn in Strass. The Ziller River marks the divide between the dioceses of Salzburg and Innsbruck, which is reflected in the colour of the church steeples. The church steeples on the left side of the Ziller are predominantly red (Innsbruck Dioecese)and those to the right are green, showing their allegiance with the Diocese of Salzburg.

There are four holiday regions in Zillertal:

Erste Ferienregion im Zillertal

Zillertal Arena

Ferienregion Mayrhofen-Hippach

Ferienregion Tux & Finkenberg

Do you like this story?